

Notice of Secession

1. Secession

- **1.** We, the people of the Principality of Southwater, declare unequivocal independence for our state from the Alsann Republic.
 - **a.** Our intention in this regard is to establish sovereignty over our lands and to secure nationality for our people.
 - **b.** The lands of Southwater shall be defined in the second article. The people of the nation are all which reach acceptable qualification to attain citizenship, or those living permanently upon our lands.
- 2. We request our decision be recognised by the Alsann Republic and request no military action be taken by the aforementioned nation to eliminate or otherwise damage our sovereignty.
 - **a.** In the same regard, the Principality of Southwater assures that no military action will be taken except in defence to explicit threats against its territorial or national sovereignty.

2. Territory

- 1. The Principality of Southwater will be comprised of two broad regions.
 - **a.** The first is Ibisca, the northern territory of Southwater. It is located north of where the Canning River bends into the Darling Range and at the border between the Swan Coastal Plain and the Darling Range's foothills.
 - **b.** The second is the Swan Coast, Southwater's southern territory. It is composed of a number of areas to the east of Augusta, Western Australia, on a total of 5 islands, a forested waterfront region and a large sand-dune coastal feature.
 - **c.** Such subdivisions as above will be recognised solely for their geographical qualities, as the Principality of Southwater is a unitary state. Due to geographical elements, the regions may receive different services from the state.

- 2. There will be two capitals between which all stately duties will be performed. These capitals shall be equal in their status.
 - **a.** One capital, the legislative, will be at the Three Logs crossing in central lbisca. It will be named Timber Cove for its place on the river. During periods when the second capital is unavailable, it may also play host for the executive.
 - **b.** The other capital, the executive seat of power, is on Shag Island in the Swan Coast region. It is the westernmost point of land in the region and nation, and is recognised as the seat of power from which the executive may derive authority.

3. Structure

- 1. The Principality of Southwater shall be a constitutional monarchy, led by the Sovereign Prince and the Crown Council. Traditional separation of powers shall exist, however the Sovereign Prince may serve as a member of the Crown Council.
 - **a.** The Sovereign Prince of Southwater is a hereditary role as head of state for Southwater. The Sovereign Prince performs the duties of the executive, enforcing the laws and sovereignty of Southwater.
 - **b.** The Sovereign Prince is succeeded by the Crown Princess, who is the closest living relative of the Sovereign Prince. At independence, Kalan Cameron de Sydvand will be Sovereign Prince of Southwater.
 - **c.** The Sovereign Prince is entitled to Crown Orders, which allow for the independent passage of documents in regard to subject over which the Sovereign Prince holds precedence. Crown Orders may be struck down by a proper majority of the Crown Council.
- 2. The Crown Council of Southwater is the unicameral legislative entity for Southwater. It acts as Southwater's legislature, passing laws regarding the nation. It also serves as the judiciary, interpreting laws.
 - **a.** The Crown Council will be composed of four members in total; two representing the territories and two representing the people at large.
 - **b.** A member shall be elected to represent each the Swan Coast and Ibisca, as the two territorial centres of Southwater. Two more shall be elected by the people in a popular election.
 - **c.** Should any split decisions occur, the Sovereign Prince or an entity appointed as such by the Sovereign Prince may act as a tiebreaker.

- **d.** Where documents specify a 'proper majority' of the Crown Council be required, this refers to the majority of Councillors in favour without intervention of the Sovereign Prince. At this time, this would mean three of four Councillors must be in favour.
- **e.** The Crown Council will have the power to act as the highest court of law, where it may pass judgement in regards to interpreting laws and higher documents and also perform judicial duties in prosecuting the laws of Southwater.

Ordered by Sovereign Prince, Kalan Cameron de Sydvand. On this day, 11 January 2024, to immediate effect.

Office of the

